Present Mr. Ted Paszek – Trustee

Mrs. Le-Ann Ewaskiw – Trustee Mr. Dean Sarnecki– Trustee Mr. Jean Boisvert – Trustee

Mrs. Teresa Makowecki - Trustee

Mr. Al Stewart – Trustee

Mrs. Shelley Charchun – Trustee Mr. Paul Corrigan – Superintendent Mrs. Tracy Leigh - Secretary-Treasurer

Absent 0

**Also Present** Mrs. Lisa Wispinski – Executive Assistant

Public 0

Call to Order Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh called the meeting to order

at 4:24 pm and asked Superintendent Paul Corrigan to lead

everyone in prayer.

**Opening Prayer** Superintendent, Paul Corrigan opened the meeting with a

prayer.

**Acknowledgement** We acknowledge that we are on the traditional land of Treaty

No. 6, and home of Métis Nation of Alberta Zone 4. We also acknowledge the Inuit and other diverse Indigenous peoples whose ancestors have marked their territory since time immemorial, a place that has welcomed many peoples from

around the world to make their home here.

**Election of Chair** Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh made the first call for

nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of

Trustees.

Trustee Ted Paszek nominated Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Le-

Ann Ewaskiw accepted the nomination.

Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh made the  $2^{nd}$  and  $3^{rd}$  call for

nominations. There were none. Nominations are closed

Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw was declared Board Chair by

acclamation.

Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw thanked the Board for their confidence and support and indicated that she accepts the position and thanked Trustees for their trust in her. Trustee Ewaskiw thanked Trustee Ted Paszek for his mentorship and leadership over the past 5 years serving as Board Chair.

## **Election of Vice-Chair**

Chair Le-Ann Ewaskiw called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee Teresa Makowecki nominated Trustee Ted Paszek for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees and Trustee Ted Paszek accepted the nomination.

Trustee Shelley Charchun nominated Trustee Dean Sarnecki for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees and Trustee Dean Sarnecki accepted the nomination.

Chair Le-Ann Ewaskiw made the second and third call for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees. There were none.

**O58/2022** Trustee Jean Boisvert moved to cease nominations for Vice-Chair.

**CARRIED** 

Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh distributed the ballots to the Trustees.

The Secretary-Treasurer collected and counted the votes.

Trustee Ted Paszek was declared Board Vice-Chair.

Vice-Chair Ted Paszek thanked Trustees for their trust and support and for the opportunity to serve as Vice-Chair.

Chair Ted Paszek appreciated the support received when he served as Board Chair.

**059/2022** Trustee Shelley Charchun moved to destroy the ballots.

**CARRIED** 

## **Appointment of Standing Committees and Board Representatives:**

The following committee representatives were struck by the Board:

## **STANDING COMMITTEES:** (\*denotes Chair of Committee)

## **ATA Employee Relations**

\* Ted Paszek Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Al Stewart

### **ATA Liaison**

\*Jean Boisvert Dean Sarnecki alternate: Teresa Makowecki **Employee Relations (CUPE Local 1961)** 

\* Ted Paszek Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Dean Sarnecki

## **Employee Relations (UNIFOR Local 71)**

\* Jean Boisvert Al Stewart alternate: Teresa Makowecki

## **Superintendent Employee Relations**

\* Le-Ann Ewaskiw Ted Paszek alternate: Teresa Makowecki **Employee Relations (Transportation)** 

\* Jean Boisvert Shelley Charchun alternate: Al Stewart

### **Student Issues Committee**

\*Teresa Makowecki Shelley Charchun Dean Sarnecki

### **Audit Committee**

\* Jean Boisvert Dean Sarnecki Shelley Charchun

## **Policy Committee**

\* Teresa Makowecki Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Dean Sarnecki

## **Board Representations** – reports to appear in items for information

section of agenda

### ACSTA (Alberta Catholic School Trustees' Association)

Dean Sarnecki alternate : Ted Paszek **ASBA (Alberta School Boards Association)** 

Jean Boisvert alternate: Al Stewart

### **Religious Education Activities for Life (REAL)**

Jean Boisvert Dean Sarnecki

### **EICS GrACE Committee (Local)**

Shelley Charchun

## **Goodwill Committee (Ad Hoc)**

Shelley Charchun

## **Rural Caucus**

Teresa Makowecki alternate: Jean Boisvert

## **Trustee Retreat Planning Committee**

Le-Ann Ewaskiw Shelley Charchun Teresa Makowecki

## **TEBA – Teacher Employee Bargainning Committee**

Ted Paszek

**Vice Chair Ted Paszek** moved to approve the Standing Committees and Board Representation Committees as

attached.

## **CARRIED**

## **Board Meeting Dates** 2022/2023

Trustees discussed possible dates and times for the 2022/2023 school year. It was agreed that the Committee meeting will start at 12:00 pm., with a flexible start time. and the Public Board Meeting will continue to start at 2:30 p.m.

Meeting dates:

August 29, 2022 – CLS September 21, 2022- CLS

October 26, 2022 – CLS – St. Patrick, Camrose

November 23, 2022 - CLS December 14, 2022 - CLS

January 18, 2023 – St. John Paul II, Fort Saskatchewan

February 15, 2023 - CLS March 15, 2023 - CLS

April 19, 2023 – St. Martin's, Vegreville

May 25, 2023 – CLS (due to REAL Foundation Golf

Tournament)

June 14, 2023 - CLS

**O61/2022 Trustee Jean Boisvert** moved that the Board accept the Board meeting dates as presented.

**CARRIED** 

EICS Trustees Partnered with Schools for 2022 -2023 Trustees reviewed the listing of Trustees partnered with Schools.

Superintendent Paul Corrigan concluded the meeting with a prayer.

Adjournment	Chair Le-Ann Ewaskiw declared the meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.
	BOARD CHAIR
	SECRETARY-TREASURER