BOARD HIGHLIGHTS

TRUSTEES

Ted Paszek

Board Chair Sherwood Park tedp@eics.ab.ca

Le-Ann Ewaskiw

Vice-Chair Sherwood Park le-ann.ewaskiw@ eics.ab.ca

Al Stewart

Fort Saskatchewan al.stewart@ eics.ab.ca

Michelle Szott

Sherwood Park michelles@eics.ab.ca

Jean Boisvert

Sherwood Park jeanb@eics.ab.ca

Ron Baier

Camrose ronb@eics.ab.ca

Teresa Makowecki

Vegreville teresa.makowecki@ eics.ab.ca

NEXT MEETING

December 16, 2020

2:30 PM

EICS Board Advocacy Highlights

Members of the Elk Island Catholic School Board of Trustees have been attending numerous parent council meetings; Remembrance Day activities and regular governance meetings virtually during the months of October and November.

Audited Financial Statements - Approved

At the November 25, 2020 regular meeting of the EICS Board of Trustees, the EICS Audit Committee put forward the year end (August 31, 2020) audited financial report for the EICS school division. The Audit Committee works with the accounting firm of MNP (LLP) to provide the audit, financial statements, audit report and management letter which was provided to the Board of Trustees for their approval. EICS CFO/Secretary Treasurer Cindy Wang presented to the EICS Board of Trustees an overview of the audited financial statements. A motion was put forward for the Board to accept the audited financial statements and this was passed unanimously.

Federal Grant Covid Expenses

At the public meeting, CFO/Secretary Treasurer Cindy Wang provided the report to the EICS Board of Trustees of the EICS submission to Alberta Education highlighting the Federal Funding for Alberta for a Safe Return to Class Fund.

Allocations will be provided on the following dates:

September 2020: \$1,175, 125 \$1,175, 125 **January 2021 :**

Total allocation of funding for Safe School Re-Entry: \$2,350,250

Highlights of the expenditures allocated to the federal funding include:

Additional Learning Supports: \$2,588,288 Testing (Temp checks/Swab Tests) \$55,000 Cleaning Supplies and Sanitization \$80,000

Additional Clearning and

Custodial (substitutes) \$284.020 Online Learning/Teacher Training \$137,000 Transportation Cleaning \$35,229

Total expenditures: \$3,179,537

> 310 Broadview Road Sherwood Park, AB, T8H-1A4 (780) 467-8896

TRUSTEES

Ted Paszek

Board Chair Sherwood Park tedp@eics.ab.ca

Le-Ann Ewaskiw

Vice-Chair Sherwood Park le-ann.ewaskiw@ eics.ab.ca

Al Stewart

Fort Saskatchewan Al.Stewart@ eics.ab.ca

Michelle Szott

Sherwood Park michelles@eics.ab.ca

Jean Boisvert

Sherwood Park jeanb@eics.ab.ca

Ron Baier

Camrose ronb@eics.ab.ca

Teresa Makowecki

Vegreville teresa.makowecki@ eics.ab.ca

Next Meeting: Wednesday, October 14 2:30 PM **CLS Board** Room

Government of Alberta Public Health Restrictions

On November 24, the Alberta Government declared a state of public health emergency and announced several new measures to slow the spread of COVID-19.

Students in Grades K-6 will continue with in-school learning until their school calendar Christmas Break. Then, after their calendar Christmas break, they will move to temporary online learning until January 8, 2021 and return to in-class learning on Monday, January 11th.

Students in Grades 7-12, enolled in in-school learning, will move to a temporary online learning model from November 30 until their calendar Christmas Break and then back online after the break until January 8, 2021. In-school learning resumes on January 11, 2021.

EICS Board of Trustees Recognizes Amazing Employees

At the November 25, 2020 EICS Board of Trustees public meeting, the nominees and winners of two prestigious teaching awards were announced. The Alberta School Board Association of Alberta Edwin Parr Teaching Award and Council of Catholic School Superintendents of Alberta both have annual awards and EICS is proud to be able to put forward so many nominees as a reflection of exceptional teaching that occurs every year across our school division.

Council of Catholic School Superintendents of Alberta (CCSSA) Excellence in Catholic Teaching Award

Each year the CCSSA honors one teacher or school administrator from each Catholic jurisdiction in the province who has done an exemplary job in preparing our youth to grow into outstanding Catholic citizens.

2020 Nominees

Joclyn Beliveau St. Nicholas Catholic School

Our Lady of Mount Pleasant Catholic School Lana Froehler

Angela Prenoslo Madonna Catholic School

2020 CCSSA Winner

Madonna Catholic School Angela Prenoslo

Alberta School Board Association (ASBA) Edwin Parr Excellence in First Year Teaching Award

Each year the ASBA honours outstanding first-year teachers with the Edwin Parr Teacher Award. School boards may nominate any first-year to K to 12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction which is a member of the ASBA.

Karly Chizawsky Sarah Fairfull Amie Gartner Caitlin Lazarenko Eliza Siewert Justine Wright

Our Lady of Mount Pleasant Catholic School Archbishop Jordan Catholic School Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic School Madonna Catholic School Archbishop Jordan Catholic School St. John XXIII Catholic School

2020 Edwin Parr Winner and Zone 2/3 Nominee

Caitlin Lazarenko Madonna Catholic School









