ELK ISLAND CATHOLIC SEPARATE REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 41				
MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING				
_	HELD ON WEDNESDAY, JUNE 17, 2020 AT 4:25 P.M.			
EDUCATION CENTRE, SHERWOOD PARK, ALBERTA				
Present	Mr. Ted Paszek – Trustee Mrs. Le-Ann Ewaskiw – Trustee - video-conference Mr. Ron Baier – Trustee Mr. Jean Boisvert – Trustee Mrs. Teresa Makowecki – Trustee Mr. Al Stewart – Trustee Mrs. Michelle Szott – Trustee – video-conference Mr. Shawn Haggarty – Superintendent Mrs. Cindy Wang - Secretary-Treasurer			
Absent	0			
Also Present	Ms. Marie Frederick – Recording Secretary Ms. Susan Johnson – Communications Director Mrs. Lisa Wispinski – Executive Assistant			
Public	0			
Call to Order	Secretary-Treasurer Cindy Wang called the meeting to order and asked Superintendent Shawn Haggarty to lead everyone in prayer.			
Opening Prayer	Superintendent, Shawn Haggarty opened the meeting with a prayer.			
Acknowledgement	We acknowledge that we are on the traditional land of Treaty No. 6, and home of Métis Nation of Alberta Zone 4. We also acknowledge the Inuit and other diverse Indigenous peoples whose ancestors have marked their territory since time immemorial, a place that has welcomed many peoples from around the world to make their home here.			
Election of Chair	Secretary-Treasurer Cindy Wang made the first call for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees.			
	Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw nominated Trustee Ted Paszek for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Ted Paszek accepted the nomination.			
	Secretary-Treasurer Cindy Wang made the 2 nd and 3 rd call for nominations. There were none.			

	Trustee Ted Paszek was declared Board Chair by acclamation.
	Chair Ted Paszek indicated that he humbly accepts the position and he thanked Trustees for their trust in him.
Election of Vice-Chair	Chair Ted Paszek called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees.
	Trustee Ron Baier nominated himself for the position of Vice- Chair of the Board of Trustees and Trustee Ron Baier accepted the nomination.
	Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw nominated herself for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees and Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw accepted the nomination
	Trustee Jean Boisvert nominated himself for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees and Trustee Jean Boisvert accepted the nomination
	Chair Ted Paszek made the second and third call for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees. There were none.
075/2020	Trustee Teresa Makowecki moved to cease nominations for Vice-Chair.
	CARRIED
	Secretary-Treasurer Cindy Wang distributed the ballots. The Trustees, voting remotely, will send the Secretary-Treasurer a text message.
	The Secretary-Treasurer collected the votes and viewed the votes by text.
	Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw was declared Board Vice-Chair.
	Vice-Chair Le-Ann Ewaskiw thanked Trustees for their trust and support and for the opportunity to serve again as Vice- Chair.

Chair Ted Paszek congratulated Vice-Chair Le-Ann Ewaskiw and thanked Trustee Jean Boisvert and Trustee Ron Baier for putting their names forward.

Appointment of Standing Committees and Board Representatives:

The following committee representatives were struck by the Board:

STANDING COMMITTEES: (*denotes Chair of Committee) **ATA Employee Relations** * Ted Paszek Michelle Szott alternate: Al Stewart ATA Liaison *Ron Baier Jean Boisvert alternate: Teresa Makowecki **Employee Relations (CUPE Local 1961)** * Ted Paszek Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Teresa Makowecki **Employee Relations (UNIFOR Local 71)** * Jean Boisvert Teresa Makowecki alternate: Al Stewart **Superintendent Employee Relations** Ted Paszek alternate: Teresa Makowecki * Ron Baier **Employee Relations (Transportation)** * Jean Boisvert Al Stewart alternate: Michelle Szott **Student Issues Committee** * Michelle Szott Le-Ann Ewaskiw Ron Baier Audit Committee * Michelle Szott Jean Boisvert Le-Ann Ewaskiw **Policy Committee** * Teresa Makowecki Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Michelle Szott **Board Representations** – reports to appear in items for information section of agenda ACSTA (Alberta Catholic School Trustees' Association) Michelle Szott alternate : Teresa Makowecki ASBA (Alberta School Boards Association) Jean Boisvert alternate: Le-Ann Ewaskiw **Religious Education Activities for Life (REAL)** Jean Boisvert **Rural Caucus** alternate: Jean Boisvert Teresa Makowecki Long Service Award Michelle Szott Ron Baier **Trustee Retreat Planning Committee** Le-Ann Ewaskiw Jean Boivert **Young Author's Conference** Open to all Trustees **Young Scientist's Conference** Open to all Trustees

076/2020 Trustee Jean Boisvert moved to approve the Standing Committees and Board Representation Committees as attached.

CARRIED

Superintendent Shawn Haggarty will set up a date for a tour of the schools for the Trustees in the Spring.

Board Meeting DatesTrustees discussed possible dates and times for the 2020/20212019/2020school year. It was agreed that the Committee meeting will
start at 12:30 p.m. and the Public Board Meeting will continue
to start at 2:30 p.m.

Meeting dates: August 27, 2020 – CLS September 16, 2020 - CLS October 14, 2020 – Our Lady of Mount Pleasant - Camrose November 25, 2020 - CLS December 16, 2020 - CLS January 20, 2021 - CLS February 24, 2021 - CLS March 17, 2021 – St. John XXIII, library, Fort Saskatchewan April 21, 2021 – St. Mary's, Vegreville May 26, 2021 - CLS June 16, 2021 - CLS

CARRIED

EICS Trustees	078/2020	Trustee Al Stewart moved that the Board approve the EICS
Partnered with Schools		Trustees Partnered with Schools for 2020-2021.
for 2020 -2021		
		CARRIED
	079/2020	Trustee Jean Boisvert moved to destroy the ballots.

CARRIED

^{077/2020} Trustee Michelle Szott moved that the Board accept the Board meeting dates as presented.

Superintendent Shawn Haggarty concluded the meeting with a prayer.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

BOARD CHAIR

SECRETARY-TREASURER