EICS Board Highlights

April 18, 2018

Superintendent's Report

Superintendent Hauptman shared with the Board of Trustees the following information:

- Attended the Alberta Teachers' Association Colloquium that focused on a the *Growing up Digital* study and work of various universities. Attendance included Alberta Education delegates, Privacy Commission Representatives, and other Educational Partner organizations. Key learning was the need for student downtime from technology. The effects of technology on wellness require a refocusing of practices and instruction around not only digital citizenship but digital wellness. Further exploration and changes to school practices will be explored with division leadership.
- Assurance Review Working Group meeting was held to discuss draft framework and elements under agreed upon domains from the larger stakeholder group. The following <u>draft document</u> provides a summary of the work of the group and possible future direction of assurance.
- Agreement with The Home Education Exchange for services for next year in serving home education students has been signed.

CCSSA Excellence in Catholic Education Award

Each year the Council of Catholic School Superintendents of Alberta honors one teacher or school administrator from each Catholic jurisdiction in the province who has done an exemplary job in preparing our youth to grow into outstanding Catholic citizens. Nominees are passionate about Catholic education and the students they teach, inspire their students, and demonstrate commitment to Catholic education and teaching excellence. The award is presented to the winner at either the Blue Prints or S.P.I.C.E. conference annually.

Nominees from EICS this year are:

Lucille MacPherson: École Pere Kenneth Kearns Catholic School

Aoife Cahill: St. Luke Catholic School

Tricia Murphy: Archbishop Jordan Catholic School



Aoife Cahill

St. Luke Catholic School



Tricia MurphyArchbishop Jordan
Catholic School



Lucille MacPherson-

École Pere Kenneth Kearns Catholic School

Edwin Parr Teacher Award 2018

Each year the ASBA honors six outstanding first-year teachers with the Edwin Parr Teacher Award. School boards may nominate any first-year K to 12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction which is a member of the ASBA. Edwin Parr was President of the Alberta School Trustees' Association from 1956 to 1962. The Award was set up to honour his memory and to recognize outstanding first year teachers.

Nominees:

Bridget Budzak: Holy Spirit Catholic School Gregory Doll: St. Patrick Catholic School

Samantha Lefler: Holy Redeemer Catholic School

Paula Stecyk: Holy Spirit Catholic School













Vegreville and District Child Development Presentation

The EICS Board of Trustees welcomed represenatives from the Vegreville and District Child Development Committee. This committee has representatives from the Parent Link Centre, Community for Lasting Success, Alberta Health Services, Town of Vegreville, FCSS, local schools, Alberta Children's Services and the Vegreville Day Home Society. This group provides monthly newsletters, calendars, connections to other community group events and information to families.

At the April 18, EICS Board of Trustees meeting, the group presented their Community Profile Report which contains the results of an extensive questionnaire regarding early development milestones in the Vegreville and surrounding area. A copy of their presentation can be downloaded below.



EDI Presentation - Vegreville Child Development Committee



EICS Capital Projects Update - March 21, 2018

St. Andre Bessette

A delay in the approval of the HVAC system inspection has delayed the open house by one month. There is no risk this delay will impact the opening of the school.

Central Learning Services

Concrete pad has been poured throughout the building and framing of walls is underway. The project is tracking well for an October occupancy.

St. John Paul 2 Site Development

The General Contractor has been selected and the Division is awaiting the Development Agreement from the city before awarding the contract. Site work will commence in July where the ball diamond will be relocated and half of the parking lot converted to a hard play area for students.

OLA Site Development

Once the modular demolition is completed, a gravel parking lot will be developed for staff parking. This will allow for better traffic circulation for students and busses.

<u>École Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic School Preparation for Reconfiguration</u> The science lab will be moved over Summer 2018 so that the new CTS area will be vacant. This will allow for the space to be developed over 2018-19 without impacting instruction.

Why Alberta Still Has a Separate Catholic School System

Check out this very informative and easy to comprehend video of the history of Catholic education in Alberta.



It has to do with history, politics and the constitution.

EICS Board of Trustees Web Page



EICS Board of Trustees

Facebook @eicstalks

Justine Wright - Board Chair - Fort Saskatchewan:

justinew@eics.ab.ca

Michelle Szott - Board Vice-Chair - Sherwood Park:

michelles@eics.ab.ca

Ron Baier - Trustee - Camrose: ronb@eics.ab.ca

Ted Paszek - Trustee - Sherwood Park: tedp@eics.ab.ca

Jean Boisvert - Trustee - Sherwood Park: jeanb@eics.ab.ca

Le-Ann Ewaskiw - Trustee - Sherwood Park: <u>le-</u>

ann.ewaskiw@eics.ab.ca

Teresa Makowecki - Trustee - Vegreville:

teresa.makowecki@eics.ab.ca

• 160 Festival Way, Sherwood P...

✓ eicstalks@eics.ab.ca



(780) 467-8896



o eics.ab.ca

