Present Mr. Ron Baier - Trustee

Mr. Jean Boisvert – Trustee Mrs. Le-Ann Ewaskiw – Trustee Mrs. Teresa Makowecki – Trustee

Mr. Ted Paszek – Trustee Mrs. Michelle Szott – Trustee Mrs. Justine Wright – Trustee

Mr. Michael Hauptman – Superintendent of Schools

Mr. Ryan Stierman - Secretary-Treasurer

Absent Mr. Shawn Haggarty – Deputy Superintendent

**Also Present** Father Jim Corrigan – Pastor, Our Lady of Perpetual Help

Parish

Ms. Marie Frederick – Recording Secretary
Ms. Susan Johnson – Communications Director

Public 7

**Parish Oath of Office** Father Jim Corrigan, Pastor of Our Lady of Perpetual Help

Parish administered the Catholic School Trustee Oath of

Office to the Trustees and led everyone in prayer.

Oath of Office Secretary-Treasurer Ryan Stierman administrated the Oath of

Office to the Trustees (Trustee Declaration and Oath of Office

attached).

**Call to Order** Secretary-Treasurer Ryan Stierman called the meeting to

order and asked Superintendent Michael Hauptman to lead

everyone in prayer.

**Acknowledgement** We acknowledge that we are on the traditional land of Treaty

No. 6, and home of Métis Nation of Alberta Zone 4. We also acknowledge the Inuit and other diverse Indigenous peoples whose ancestors have marked their territory since time immemorial, a place that has welcomed many peoples from

around the world to make their home here.

O' Canada Everyone joined together in the singing of O'Canada.

#### **Election of Chair**

Secretary-Treasurer Ryan Stierman made the first call for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee Ted Paszek nominated Trustee Justine Wright for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Justine Wright accepted the nomination.

Secretary-Treasurer Ryan Stierman made the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> call for nominations. There were none.

**127/2017** Trustee Jean Boisvert moved to cease nominations.

**CARRIED** 

Trustee Justine Wright was declared the Board Chair by acclamation.

Chair Justine Wright thanked everyone for the vote of confidence.

**Election of Vice-Chair** 

Chair Justine Wright called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee Jean Boisvert nominated Trustee Ron Baier for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Ron Baier accepted the nomination.

Trustee Michelle Szott nominated herself for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Chair Justine Wright made the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> call for nominations. There were none.

**128/2017 Trustee Ted Paszek** moved to cease nominations for Vice-Chair.

**CARRIED** 

Chair Justine Wright invited the two nominees to speak on their nominations.

Chair Justine Wright with the help of Secretary-Treasurer Ryan Stierman administered a secret ballot for the position of Vice-Chair.

Trustee Michelle Szott was declared Board Vice-Chair.

Trustee Michelle Szott thanked everyone for the opportunity to support the Board Chair.

**129/2017 Trustee Ted Paszek** moved to destroy the ballots.

CARRIED

Chair Justine Wright expressed her appreciation of the Trustees' support.

**Committee Structure** 

The following committee representatives were struck by the Board:

**STANDING COMMITTEES:** (\*denotes Chair of Committee)

**ATA Employee Relations** 

**ATA Liaison** 

\*Ron Baier Jean Boisvert alternate: Teresa Makowecki

**Employee Relations (CUPE Local 1961)** 

**Employee Relations (UNIFOR Local 71)** 

\* Jean Boisvert Teresa Makowecki alternate: Michelle Szott

**Superintendent Employee Relations** 

\* Ron Baier Justine Wright alternate: Teresa Makowecki

**Employee Relations (Transportation)** 

\* Jean Boisvert Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Michelle Szott

**Student Issues Committee** 

\* Michelle Szott Le-Ann Ewaskiw Ron Baier

**Audit Committee** 

\* Ted Paszek Jean Boisvert Justine Wright

**Policy Committee** 

\* Ron Baier Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate : Jean Boisvert

**Board Representations** – reports to appear in items for information section of agenda

ACSTA (Alberta Catholic School Trustees' Association)

Michelle Szott

ASBA (Alberta School Boards Association)

Justine Wright alternate: Jean Boisvert

**Religious Education Activities for Life (REAL)** 

Jean Boisvert

**Rural Caucus** 

Teresa Makowecki alternate: Jean Boisvert

Young Author's Conference

Le-Ann Ewaskiw

Young Scientist's Conference

Teresa Makowecki

Parish/Board Liaison - All Trustees

**130/2017 Trustee Michelle Szott** moved to destroy the Committee ballots.

**CARRIED** 

**131/2017 Trustee Ted Paszek** moved to ratify the Committees as attached.

**CARRIED** 

**Board Meeting Dates** 2017/2018

Trustees discussed possible dates and times for the 2017/2018 school year. It was agreed that the Committee meeting will start at 1:00 p.m. and the public Regular Board Meeting will start at 2:30.

Meeting dates:

November 29, 2017 December 13, 2017 January 17, 2018 February 21, 2018 March 21, 2018 April 18, 2018 May 16, 2018 June 20, 2018

**132/2017 Trustee Jean Boisvert** moved that the Board accept the Board meeting dates as presented.

**CARRIED** 

Trustees discussed attendance at General Meetings of the Alberta Catholic Trustees' Association and it was decided that the topic will be placed on the Agenda of the November 29, 2017 meeting.

Superintendent Michael Hauptman concluded the meeting with a prayer.

Adjournment	The meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.	
	BOARD CHAIR	
	SECRETARY-TREASURER	