Present Mr. Jean Boisvert – Trustee

Mrs. Shelley Charchun – Trustee Mrs. Le-Ann Ewaskiw – Trustee Mrs. Teresa Makowecki – Trustee

Mr. Ted Paszek – Trustee Mr. Dean Sarnecki - Trustee Mr. Al Stewart – Trustee

Mr. Shawn Haggarty - Superintendent

Mr. Paul Corrigan - Assistant Superintendent, Faith and

**Wellness Services** 

Mrs. Tracy Leigh - Secretary-Treasurer

**Absent** 0

Also Present Ms. Marie Frederick – Recording Secretary

Mrs. Lisa Wispinski – Executive Assistant

Public 0

Board

Call to Order Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh called the meeting to order

at 12:00 p.m. and asked Superintendent Shawn Haggarty to

lead everyone in prayer.

Opening Prayer Superintendent, Shawn Haggarty opened the meeting with a

prayer.

**Acknowledgement** We acknowledge that we are on the traditional land of Treaty

No. 6, and home of Métis Nation of Alberta Zone 4. We also acknowledge the Inuit and other diverse Indigenous peoples whose ancestors have marked their territory since time immemorial, a place that has welcomed many peoples from

around the world to make their home here.

Oaths of Office Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh administered the Oaths of

Office to the school Trustees.

**Blessing of the Board** Father Mario Villaraza blessed the new Board of Trustees.

**Call for Chair of the**Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh made the first call for

nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of

Trustees.

Trustee LeAnn Ewaskiw nominated Trustee Ted Paszek for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Ted Paszek accepted the nomination.

Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh made the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> call for nominations. There were none.

Trustee Ted Paszek was declared Board Chair by acclamation.

Chair Ted Paszek indicated that he accepts the position and he thanked Trustees for their trust in him.

Call for Vice-Chair of the Board

Chair Ted Paszek called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee Al Stewart nominated Trustee Jean Boisvert for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees and Trustee Jean Boisvert accepted the nomination.

Trustee Teresa Makowecki nominated Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees and Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw accepted the nomination

Chair Ted Paszek made the second and third call for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees. There were none.

**083/2021** Trustee Dean Sarnecki moved to cease nominations for Vice-Chair.

**CARRIED** 

Secretary-Treasurer Tracy Leigh distributed the ballots to the Trustees.

The Secretary-Treasurer collected the votes.

Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw was declared Board Vice-Chair.

Vice-Chair Le-Ann thanked Trustees for the opportunity to

serve again as Vice-Chair.

Chair Ted Paszek congratulated Vice-Chair Le-Ann Ewaskiw and thanked Trustee Jean Boisvert for putting his name forward.

**084/2021** Trustee Al Stewart moved to have the ballots destroyed.

CARRIED

Chair Ted Paszek thanked Mrs. Michele Szott and Mr. Ron Baier for their service to Elk Island Catholic Schools and congratulated the incumbents and new Trustees to the Board.

### **Appointment of Standing Committees and Board Representatives:**

The following committee representatives were struck by the Board:

### **STANDING COMMITTEES:** (\*denotes Chair of Committee)

#### **ATA Employee Relations**

\* Ted Paszek Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Al Stewart

#### **ATA Liaison**

Jean Boisvert Dean Sarnecki alternate: Teresa Makowecki Employee Relations (CUPE Local 1961)

\* Ted Paszek Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Dean Sarnecki

#### **Employee Relations (UNIFOR Local 71)**

\* Jean Boisvert Teresa Makowecki alternate: Al Stewart

#### **Superintendent Employee Relations**

\* Ted Paszek Teresa Makowecki alternate: Le-Ann Ewaskiw

#### **Employee Relations (Transportation)**

\* Jean Boisvert Shelley Charchun alternate: Al Stewart

#### **Student Issues Committee**

\* Teresa Makowecki Shelley Charchun Dean Sarnecki alternate: All Trustees

#### **Audit Committee**

\* Jean Boisvert Dean Sarnecki Shelley Charchun

#### **Policy Committee**

\* Teresa Makowecki Le-Ann Ewaskiw alternate: Dean Sarnecki

### **Board Representations** – reports to appear in items for information section of agenda

#### **ACSTA (Alberta Catholic School Trustees' Association)**

Dean Sarnecki alternate : Teresa Makowecki **ASBA (Alberta School Boards Association)**Jean Boisvert alternate: Le-Ann Ewaskiw

Goodwill Committee (ad hoc)

\*Shelley Charchun Ted Paszek

**Religious Education Activities for Life (REAL)** 

Jean Boisvert Dean Sarnecki

**Rural Caucus** 

Teresa Makowecki alternate: Jean Boisvert

Long Service Award

No Committee formed – name to be discussed

**Trustee Retreat Planning Committee** 

Le-Ann Ewaskiw Jean Boisvert Teresa Mackowecki TEBA – Teacher Employee Bargaining Association (member of ATA employee relations committee)

\*Ted Paszek

**O85/2021** Trustee Teresa Makowecki moved to approve the Standing Committees and Board Representation Committees as

attached.

**CARRIED** 

**Disclosure of Trustee Information** 

Secretary-Treasurer, Tracy Leigh asked that Trustees complete and return the Disclosure of Trustee Information Form as per Policy 7-2.6.5.

Identification of Board of Trustees 2021-2022 Meeting Dates

Trustees discussed possible dates and times for the 2021/2022 school year. It was agreed that the Committee meeting will start at 12:00 p.m. and the Public Board Meeting will continue to start at 2:30 p.m. Trustees can attend the meetings virtually.

Meeting dates:

August 30, 2021 – CLS

September 22, 2021 - CLS

October 27, 2021 – Committee & Planning, Organizational &

Public - CLS

November 24, 2021 - CLS

December 15, 2021- CLS

January 19, 2022 - St. John XXIII Catholic School, Fort

Saskatchewan (tentative)

February 16, 2022 - CLS

March 16, 2022 – Our Lady of Mount Pleasant Catholic

School, Camrose (tentative)

April 20, 2022 – St. Mary's Catholic School, Vegreville

(tentative)

May 25, 2022 - CLS June 15, 2022 - CLS

086/2021 Trustee Le-Ann Ewaskiw moved that the Board accept the Board meeting dates as presented.

		CARRIED
Trustees Partnered with School Councils for 2021-2022	087/2021	<b>Trustee Dean Sarnecki</b> moved that the Board approve the EICS Trustees Partnered with Schools for 2021-2022.
		CARRIED
		Superintendent Shawn Haggarty concluded the meeting with a prayer.
Adjournment		The meeting adjourned at 1:39 p.m.
		BOARD CHAIR

SECRETARY-TREASURER